WP 5 Post-Brexit cross-border instruments


After ‘Brexit’, the EU framework (based on Art 81 EU Treaty) lost the UK as a Member State. As a consequence, the EU Insolvency Regulation (as well as Brussels I, Brussels II, Rome I and II, etc) are no longer applicable to the UK. This Working Party studies the impact this has on the cross-border restructuring and insolvency practice involving the the EU and UK.


Prof. Francisco Garcimartin
Prof. Michael Veder

Completed Projects

  • Cross-Border Restructuring and Insolvency Post-Brexit
    This project studies the relationship between the EU and the UK after Brexit in the area of restructuring and insolvency law, It seeks to formulate a position on the nature and content of a possible future instrument governing that relationship. The report focusses on the European Insolvency Regulation (EIR Recast) and how to fill the gap that will be left if, after Brexit, the EIR Recast will cease to apply as between the EU and the UK.

    Reporter(s): Prof. Francisco Garcimartin and Prof. Michael Veder
    Research Associate: Prof. Ángel Espiniella

    The project resulted in:
    - CERIL Statement 2018-2 on Cross-Border Restructuring and Insolvency Post-Brexit
    - CERIL Report 2018-2 on Cross-Border Restructuring and Insolvency Post-Brexit

Members part of

WP 05 Post-Brexit cross-border instruments

Abbas Abbasov Academic Conferee
Stefania Bariatti Academic Conferee
Mylène Boché-Robinet Ordinary Conferee
Reinhard Bork Academic Conferee
Kathlene Burke Ordinary Conferee
Giorgio Corno Ordinary Conferee
Jenny Davidson Ordinary Conferee
Anja Droege Gagnier Ordinary Conferee
Ángel Espiniella Menéndez Academic Conferee
Zoltán Fabók Ordinary Conferee
Jennifer Gant Academic Conferee
Francisco Garcimartin Co-Chair/Academic Conferee
Line Langkjaer Academic Conferee
Antonio Leandro Academic Conferee
Stephan Madaus Academic Conferee
Irit Mevorach Academic Conferee
Grégory M. D. Minne Ordinary Conferee
Elina Moustaira Academic Conferee
Piet Neijt Judicial Conferee
Luciano Panzani Academic Conferee
Christoph Paulus Academic Conferee
Michael Quinn Judicial Conferee
Rodrigo Rodriguez Academic Conferee
Omar Salah Ordinary Conferee
Siv Sandvik Ordinary Conferee
Jessica Schmidt Academic Conferee
Tinatin Shugarova Ordinary Conferee
Petr Sprinz Ordinary Conferee
Kate Stephenson Ordinary Conferee
Adrian Thery Ordinary Conferee
Michael Veder Co-Chair/Academic Conferee
Bob Wessels Academic Conferee
Sarah Wolffe Judicial Conferee