Structure and Articles of Association


CERIL was founded on a handshake in 2015 in Brussels by a group which presently forms the heart of the Executive. In 2016 its organisation (with members - called Conferees - from across Europe) was created. The founding conferees have been involved in a variety of ways in discussing and drafting national and European Union restructuring and insolvency laws or amendments to it. In February 2020, the legal entity of CERIL has been established as a Dutch association.

CERIL consists of the following bodies:

  1. Executive
  2. General Assembly
  3. Advisory Board


The Executive of CERIL is responsible for the day-to-day management. It is composed of between three to fifteen conferees. The members of the Executive retire according to a schedule to be drawn up by the Executive. In general, an appointment lasts three years with the possibility for reappointment for a period of a maximum of three years. For an overview of the Executive, click here

General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of all CERIL Conferees, it decides in particular on (a) appointment, suspension and dismissal of members of the Executive, (b) approval of CERIL’s budget, annual accounts and annual report, (c) the appointment and dismissal of an external auditor, (d) amendment of the articles of association, and (e) dissolution of CERIL. For an overview of the Conferees, click here.

Advisory Board

In addition to the General Assembly and the Executive, the Executive may decide to set up and cancel an Advisory Board consisting of three or more members. The main Advisory Board’s task is to provide solicited and unsolicited advice to the Executive on all matters concerning the association.


In line with the Articles of Association, the Executive may install committees. Currently, the Executive has set up a Financial Committee, a Standing Dispute Committee and a Projects Committee.

Articles of Association

Articles of Association (2023)